Reminder of Combined Mass

On Sunday, the 24th of February, our Parish will be holding a combined mass at 10am at Walter Nash Stadium in Taita.

This mass is a representation of the cultures, communities and spirit present in Te Awakairangi and has been made possible by a number of people throughout the parish coming together and contributing their time and skills.

There will be a number of activities happening in order to prepare the Walter Nash Stadium on Sunday morning. Doors open at 9:30am. Both the main entrance on Taine St. and the side entrance on Tocker St. will be open.

The stadium is located at 20 Taine St. and street parking is available however please be mindful that we are not the only ones using the stadium so it may be difficult to find a park. The Taita train station and bus stop is located less than 200m from the stadium so we encourage you to use public transport, walk or carpool wherever possible.

The parking lot located on Tocker St. is reserved for guests with mobility limitations. Limited car parks will also be available at St Michael’s Church.

We hope you can join us for a shared lunch and cup of tea after mass. Please bring a plate of finger food to share.

Please note this will be the only mass on Sunday morning, there will not be a morning mass celebrated at any mass centre.

We look forward to seeing you for our celebration.
The Parish Pastoral Council

The Catholic Parish of Te Awakairangi is a diverse community, in ethnicity, age, spirituality and interests. Formed in 2015, the parish is composed of the churches of St Michael’s, St Bernadette’s, St Martin de Porres, and Sts Peter & Paul and covers the residential areas of Central Hutt, Avalon, Naenae, Taita, Fairfield, Alicetown, Maungaraki, Normandale, Harbour View and Belmont. Te Awakairangi is the largest of the forty eight parishes in the Wellington Archdiocese with approximately 3000 parishioners.

The Parish was given the name Te Awakairangi after the original Maori name for the Hutt River. Over time the name grew to be used as the name for the Hutt Valley. “Te Awa” means the river, and “kairangi” describes it as a precious river that meanders across the valley. As Parish we are intimately connected to the geographical area within which we are. Water is something that is precious and holy. It symbolises grace, cleansing and life. As Catholics we are connected by the waters of our baptism. As well as the name the Archbishop designated us to celebrate our feast day on Good Shepherd Sunday.